Autumn Zimmerman
  • History, Pre-law, and Speech Communications
  • Class of 2019
  • Concordia, KS

Autumn Zimmerman and Fellow KWU Debate Team Members Top Nebraska, Central Missouri at First Tournament of the Year

2015 Oct 1

Autumn Zimmerman of Concordia , KS and the rest of the Kansas Wesleyan Debate and Forensics team topped the University of Nebraska-Lincoln and the University of Central Missouri to finish in first place in the debate competition at its first tournament of the year on Sept. 26-27, 2015, hosted by Hutchinson Community College along with co-host Sterling College.

Combining the individual events with debate, the Coyote squad was able to squeeze in between Nebraska and UCM and place second overall. About 20 colleges and universities competed at the tournament, which was called "Debates On A Plain."

The tournament had three divisions of debate featuring two different formats. In International Public Debate, freshman Jacob Studebaker (El Dorado, KS) placed first and freshman Autumn Zimmerman (Concordia, KS) was third. In the Experienced Division, junior Alex Vore (Fort Scott, KS) and sophomore Dakota Yates (El Dorado, KS) tied for third place. Yates was declared the top speaker of that division, with Vore named fourth best speaker.

In the Saturday Lincoln Douglas Division, Vore placed third. Senior Amber Benning (Caney, KS) was named fourth best speaker and senior Kristofer Lewis (Salina, KS) was declared fifth best speaker. In the Sunday Lincoln Douglas Division, Vore and Lewis tied for third place and Yates placed fourth. Lewis was awarded fourth best speaker.

In Individual Events in the Novice Division, Studebaker placed second in Extemporaneous Speaking and Prose Interpretation, and he also placed third in Impromptu Speaking.


The Kansas Wesleyan University competitive Debate & Forensics Program has won 29 national championships and has been competitive each year in the regional and national tournaments it attends. The KWU squad attends about twelve tournaments per year. These tournaments include schools from throughout the United States, including yearly or bi-annual visits to Louisiana, Tennessee, Missouri, Arkansas, Oklahoma, and California.